Diversity

Posted: November 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

Personally, yes I’ve judged people by their appearance before. I was taught that the way you dress and present yourself says a lot about who you are. It’s the stereotypes that people get caught up in; yes the way you dress tells me something about you but it doesn’t mean that everyone who dresses like you is the same. Some people dress to follow the trend, some dress to stand out, some dress for attention, and some dress just to be comfortable. The same goes for tattoos or piercings, some people get them to rebel, some people just think they’re pretty, some people get them as a tribute, and some get them to make other statements about themselves. Judging a book by it’s cover happens all the time, it’s when you take the time to open that questionable looking book that you come face to face with real adventure. I wouldn’t say I identify myself with any particular culture or religion, but I know my values and I know God. I don’t drink, smoke, or do any other drugs for recreation. That is probably my only set of values that have been questioned by outsiders multiple times, but after I explain where my opinion came from they back off. I grew up around drinkers and smokers, I watched them do stupid things and I promised myself I’d never be like that. Not only that, but the accident my dad died in, the other driver had been fighting with his wife and was a little bit drunk. I guess I base most of my personal beliefs on things that happened in my life, not just things I’ve heard about. I’d definitely like to learn more about diversity by maybe studying abroad, I know it’s always been a dream of mine to travel to Africa.  

Leave a Reply

