UGST on Tour

Posted: October 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

In Thursday’s class, everyone went to Willis Library to learn about the cool things they have to offer. I was on route to Austin for my cousin’s wedding at that time, but I was able to make it to the Career Center on Tuesday. I learned a lot about the program and the helpful things they do. I learned that they have employers from all over the DFW area come to their location for interviews for job/internships. I think that’s a great idea, because it’s easy to get lost in a new place and you wouldn’t want to be late for a big interview. I also learned about to cool events they have set up throughout the semester. I thought the etiquette dinner looked really interesting, I might see about attending. They showed us the ins and outs of the website and went more into depth about o-net, which was nice. I guess I kind of already knew this, but I was reassured that it is recommended to tailor your resume to the specific employer. Waitressing experience is not necessary if your looking into an accounting job, you know. I’m so glad there is a place like that where I can go to have my resume looked over and to help me set up interviews and such. I know that I will definitely utilize this place when I’m more confident of my major/career path. I enjoyed the tour of the Career Center, and even though it was kind of short, I absorbed lots of information that will someday come in handy.

 

I thought I posted this yesterday, but when I logged on today it was in my drafts. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

