MBTI Results/Discoveries

Posted: September 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

After doing the assessment I found out what every letter meant and quickly came to the assumption that I was an INFP. When we got our results back I wasn’t disappointed, I was right on every single one. Among many other traits, people with this classification tend to have a strong value system, a warm interest in people, are creative and inspirational, prefer working alone, and want to be seen/appreciated for who they are. Right on the money! So I looked into careers that fit my personality and found a ton of cool information about paths I had always thought of following. The ones that most appealed to me were: Art Therapist, Physical Therapist, and Psychiatrist. In each of these careers it would be just me, (not a team) helping people who have been through hardships and that is important to me. As I looked into art therapy I thought it was perfect to combine my two passions, doing my art and helping others but the money and stability just aren’t in the cards. Next I looked at physical therapy; although the money is good and it is intended to help people, I wouldn’t like to be constantly forcing physical pain onto someone, even though it would help them recover in the end. So how about a psychiatrist? (I have always wanted to be in a psychology class, it seems so interesting!) Well, they help people, they have creative freedoms, they make boat loads of money, they have decent job security and they aren’t just sitting at a desk all day doing math. I flipped though my packet and looked at the strengths for my personality type, and without even reading them I had done 4/5 things that were suggested; I reflected on what is truly important to me, I thought about the long-term prospects, I remained open as I explored the different careers, and I considered how others might be affected. Before now, I was considering going into engineering so I looked on my list and it is actually one of the least popular occupations for my personality, so I flipped the page back to most popular and found psychiatrist right there, two down from the top! Even though it requires more school, maybe it is what is meant for me. I mean nothing is set in stone but when weighing the options and comparing my own interests to the job field, it looks pretty promising. One step at a time, I’m finding myself.

Leave a Reply

